Webinars & Seminars

Below are seminars and related science News and Events that are of interest to Prof. Yarger and his research group and colleagues.

Polymer Physics and Polymer Spectroscopy (“P3S” ) Webinar series

 Polymer Physics and Polymer Spectroscopy (“P3S” ) Webinar series, taking place every other week on Thursday 2pm UTC = 3pm (CET)=9am (New York)=10pm (Beijing)=11pm (Tokyo). Our aim is to foster communication between the wider polymer and soft matter community, and people working with specific spectroscopy techniques (with some bias towards NMR).

We already had 13 events so far, which were all quite successful. If you are interested in those previous talks, you can check our archive folder for seeing the recorded videos and slides: https://cloud.uni-halle.de/s/teV5zOx62bO2aRY

Currently, our webinars are fully planned until March 4, 2021

  • Jan. 21st: Thiru Ravula (U Michigan), Tim Lodge (U Minnesota)
  • Feb. 4th: Mark Ediger (U Wisconsin), Edu de Azevedo (U Sao Paulo)
  • Feb. 18th: Sebastian Seiffert (U Mainz), Yaroslav Khimyak (U. East Anglia)
  • Mar. 4th: Marco Geppi (Pisa, Italy), Sanat Kumar (Columbia U.)

Emerging Topics in Biomolecular Magnetic Resonance

Registration required: Please register at   https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_LBCAcd31R72E7t6S9WkYEQ

The series takes place weekly on Thursdays and features two cutting-edge 30 minute presentations.

ICMRBS Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsxup-QiNEeBrfo-4d5w33Q

Web site:   emergingmr.org

The series has support of the ICMRBS (http://www.icmrbs.org) and EUROMAR (https://www.euromar2020.org) and is organized by Loren Andreas, Stefan Glöggler, Christian Griesinger, Mei Hong, Oscar Millet, Arthur Palmer and Markus Zweckstetter.








ASU Physics started an online seminar series for Fall 2020.
  • Aug 27, Prof. Steve Presse (SMS and Physics at ASU).
  • Sept 3, Prof. William Graves (Physics at ASU).

Evelyn Goldfield: A Curiosity Driven Path to Chemistry
and to the Helm at CTMC

Time: Sep 16, 2020 09:40 AM Eastern Time 

 Join ZoomGov Meetinghttps://nsf.zoomgov.com/j/1601962336?pwd=Y3I5dFdyVXl4Z2JRMzdBRXU5cGw0dz09

 Meeting ID: 160 196 2336

Passcode: 011985

If you’d like to share a few words or a story about your interaction with Evi at the event, please feel free to reach out to Dr. Richard Dawes at rdawes@nsf.gov,


Meeting link: https://arizona.zoom.us/j/94623359923
Passcode: 673372


“Arizona’s bioscience industry is committed to discovering, developing and delivering innovative medicines, medical devices and healthcare technologies that make life better for people in Arizona and around the world”
Thursday, September 10, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST
Webinar Overview
September 01, 2020 | 11am EST / 5pm CET 
Yongchao Su, Ph.D.
Pharmaceutical Sciences & Clinical Supply
Merck Research Laboratories
https://twitter.com/global_nmr | Join Meeting: https://ucsb.zoom.us/j/92480496788 | Zoom Meeting ID: 924 8049 6788

UPDATE:

 The Quantum Materials Initiative VIRTUAL workshop on “Neutrons and Complimentary Techniques for Quantum Materials” to be held on August 18-21, 2020.
 

Polymer Physics & Polymer Spectroscopy Webinar

To address the cancellations and shifts of personal meetings and seminars, and to keep up scientific exchange and discussion in times of the pandemic, we would like to offer a regular online webinar on “Polymer Physics & Polymer Spectroscopy”. We hope to foster discussions among different branches of the polymer and soft matter communities, specifically the wider fields of polymer physics and spectroscopy (with some bias towards applications of NMR). The webinar is planned with two talks each, one from the wider field and one with spectroscopy focus, always with a strong topical connection.

The webinar will be held biweekly on Thursdays at 4 pm (CEST) = 10 am (New York) = 7 am (Los Angeles) = 10 pm (Beijing) = 11 pm (Tokyo). We are looking forward to your attendance and support.

Rongchun Zhang (South China Univ. of Tech.)
Toshikazu Miyoshi (U Akron, USA)
Kay Saalwächter

ASU NOW

Live Streaming of ASU Events

https://asunow.asu.edu/asulive

Video about Glass – Links below to the content it is based on….

Virtual Undergraduate Physics Research Symposium:

Friday, April 10, 2020 – 2-4 PM (Arizona Time)

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://asu.zoom.us/j/312901973?pwd=MkZLN2NqYlJBdnovdWVUOTV5MUxmdz09
   Password: 928629


Special Physics Seminar

Dr. Christopher Swank
California Institute of Technology
Host: Dr. Ricardo Alarcon
When: Thursday
Time: 12:15pm – 1:15pm
Location: https://asu.zoom.us/j/867862482

Particle Physics with Ultracold Neutrons and Spin Precession

Special Physics Seminar

Dr. Skyler Degenkolb

Institut Laue-Langevin

Host: Dr. Ricardo Alarcon

When: Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Time: 12:15pm – 1:15pm

Location: https://asu.zoom.us/j/393426902

New tools for fundamental physics with polarized neutrons and atoms


All Seminars at ASU starting March 16, 2020 have been cancelled or postponed because of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Feb 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Quantum Chiral Institute

Feb 20, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Feb 17, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Goodnick_Nanoseminar2020

Feb 14, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Friday, February 14, 2020 at 10:00 AM - Biodesign Auditorium, B105
Speaker: Dr. Leslie Schoop, Princeton University
Host: Dr. Christina Birkel
Title: From Chemical Bonds to High Mobility in Layered Materials

Feb 6, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 12:00 PM – 501 Physical Science F Wing

Direct Measurement of the Dielectric Constant of Confined Water by Laura Fumagalli, Department of Physics & Astronomy and National Graphene Institute, University of Manchester (UK).

Feb 6, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Wolynes_Feb2020

Feb 3, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Smith_TEM_ASU_Feb2020

Jan 30, 2020| ASU-Tempe CampusBechhoefer_Maxwell_Demon_Jan2020

Jan 29, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Drabold_Akron_Jan2020

Jan 27, 2020| ASU-Tempe Campus

Lindsay_Jan2020

U-Tempe Campus

Alekseev_Seminar2020

December 16, 2019 | ASU-Tempe Campus

Ushakov_ASU_Dec16

ZOOM: https://asu.zoom.us/j/3655344641

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close